reposted from

The Margaret and John Kalman Trust have generously sponsored a Teacher Excellence Prize valued at $5,000 and five Teacher Fellowships, valued at $5,000 each to acknowledge and support the amazing work being done by secondary school mathematics and statistics teachers in the Auckland region.

The selection panel of Steven Galbraith, Rachel Passmore and a representative from the Trust confirmed the 2020 recipients of these fellowships and prize.

Kalman Teacher Excellence Prize

Michael Walden | Mt Albert Grammar School

Michael is a keen advocate of using technology in the Mathematics classroom in order to enhance student understanding. His technological expertise was particularly useful during lockdown when h

e created innovative online lessons using Desmos, Classcraft quests, Geogebra, Flipgrid and Youtube videos. Michael is keen to share his teaching innovations and has been a frequent presenter at professional development events hosted by the Auckland Mathematics Association.


Kalman Teacher Fellowships

The Margaret and John Kalman Charitable Trust support a fellowship scheme to promote leadership within the mathematics teaching community.

This year’s fellows are:

  • Frederic Jaccard | Kristin School
  • Tom Lin | Epsom Girls Grammar School
  • Rees Skiff | Mt Roskill Grammar School
  • Alistair Watt | Western Springs College
  • Penny Weakley | Westlake Boys High School

The theme for the 2020/21 Fellowships is “How can levels of student engagement be increased and sustained in order to improve mathematics and statistics learning outcomes?”

Each of the Fellows has proposed a project based on this theme, and will also have the opportunity to engage with members of the Department of Mathematics. Fellows will also be invited to attend a variety of activities  at the University throughout the year.

Share on social media: