The Margaret and John Kalman Charitable Trust is again generously offering four teacher excellence prizes of $5,000. As part of the award the winning  teachers and 15 of their students will be invited to spend a day with the Mathematics department at the University of Auckland

The Kalman Trust also offering five secondary teachers year long fellowships to promote leadership within the mathematics teaching community starting term 4 2020 and running through to the end of term 3 2021.

Applications close Friday, 31st August 2020

Read the guidelines for Nomination and download application forms for both the Teaching excellence prize and the fellowship  here 


Teaching Excellence

  • Applications are invited from any secondary school teacher of Mathematics and Statistics in the Auckland region. Groups of teachers who have collaborated on a specific project may submit a joint application.
  • The winners will be decided by a panel who will include a representatives from: the Margaret and John Kalman Charitable Trust, Executive of the Auckland Mathematical Association, Head of the Department of Mathematics and the Head of the Mathematics Education Unit, University of Auckland.
  • Any examples of excellence in the teaching of Mathematics and Statistics at secondary school level will be considered. Examples from the following categories will be particularly welcomed: Stimulation of Interest, Teaching Innovation, Teaching Excellence, Early Career Teaching Excellence, Equity, Service.

The prizes will be presented to the winning teachers at their end of year senior prize-giving.

2019 Teacher excellence winners were

  • Ro Bairstow, Kings College
  • Sunny Dama, Pakuranga College
  • Liz Sneddon, Ormiston Senior College ( now at St Kentigern College)
  • Sally van Praag. Albany Senior High School

Read more about what these amazing teachers did online



Fellowships are worth $5000; $1000 is an honorarium which goes direct to the Fellow with the remaining $4000 used mainly to cover the Fellow’s time away from their teaching duties while they participate in Fellowship activities.

The chosen Kalman Teacher Fellows will collaborate with each other throughout the year on projects connected to a central theme, as well as interacting with the department’s Mathematics Education researchers and other academics.They will also participate in seminars, assist with resource development, upskill their content knowledge and develop their leadership skills.

2019 Kalman Fellows were

  • Sam Carroll, Waiheke High School
  • Jared Hockly*, Western Springs College
  • Shan-I Lee, Auckland Girls Grammar School
  • Krista Rabullal, ACG Strathallan
  • Linda van Zyl, ACG Parnell

Read the short report outlining what these teachers achieved during their fellowship here  


For further information & to apply please contact Rachel Passmore, and she will be happy to send you further details

Share on social media: